Lighting for Tomorrow 2010 Awards Presented
March 8, 2012 - 3:38pm

Winners of the 2010 Lighting for Tomorrow Competition were announced at a breakfast meeting on the last day of the American Lighting Assn. (ALA) Conference at Encore at Wynn Las Vegas in September. The awards, which recognize exceptional energy-efficient lighting products in an effort to create higher consumer acceptance and awareness for the category, are organized by the ALA, the Consortium for Energy Efficiency (CEE) and the U.S. Department of Energy, represented by Pacific Northwest National Laboratory and were founded in 2002.

The competition enjoyed a record number of entries this year, despite entirely eliminating CFL categories in favor of higher-efficiency solid-state lighting fixtures and replacement lamps. Lighting for Tomorrow also added a category for lighting controls for 2010. Eight winners and three honorable mentions were selected from a total of 69 LED fixtures, 24 LED bulbs and 14 controls entered.

Kichler Lighting and Edge Lighting each earned double honors in the LED fixture category. Philips Lighting was the single winner for LED replacement lamps, and Leviton, Lutron and Legrand/Pass & Seymour were the lighting control winners. Additionally, Albeo Technologies, Blackstone Intl. Ltd. and Cree LED Lighting won honorable mentions. ALA Director of Engineering Terry McGowan, FIES, LC, (pictured here, left, with Kichler’s Tony Davidson and Becky Ross) made the presentation at the conference.

Kichler won for its Design Pro LED Broad Roof LED Path & Spread Light, a sleek silhouette that could only be created around an LED source, making it an entirely original landscape light. The company’s Design Pro LED Modular and Disc System for under-cabinet lighting was also a winner.

Edge Lighting won for its Scope LED Pendant and Scope LED Monorail/Track Light. A rotating lens in the 9W pendant enables the beam diameter to be adjusted from a 20-degree spot to a 50-degree flood. The track light is also 9W and both have a light output of 315 lumens with 83 CRI.

The only LED replacement lamp to make the cut was Philips Lighting’s EnduraLED A19 Lamp, a 12W replacement for a 60W incandescent. This product is scheduled to be available by the end of the year.

Leading off the three winners in the new lighting controls category was Leviton’s Decora® CFL Slide Dimmer, a control that senses the type of CFL in the socket and adjusts accordingly for maximum dimming range.

Judges applauded the simplicity of installation for Lutron’s winning control, the Radio Powr Savr™ Occupancy/Vacancy Sensor With Maestro Wireless® Swtich. The product automatically turns off the lights when a room is not in use and it installs in minutes since it doesn’t require any new wiring.

Legrand/Pass & Seymour also won for its RT1 7-Button Timer, a control with an on/off button plus six preset time-delay options that consumers can use to ensure they don’t forget to turn off a light.

The honorable mentions were the Agito Intelligent Task Light linear LED from Albeo Technologies Inc., the Sunter Architect LED Desk Lamp from Blackstone Intl. Ltd. and the CR6™ Downlight from Cree LED Lighting.

The 2011 Lighting for Tomorrow competition will kick off at the January Dallas Intl. Lighting Market and will again include LED and lighting control categories.

Leave A Comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Plugged In

RL Tweets!

Dead Site