GE Announces Winners of 30th Annual GE Edison Award
April 29, 2013 - 2:51pm
Descottes, Taylor and Tchah of L’Observatoire International win the 2012 GE Edison Award.
Vintry Fine Wines

The 2012 GE Edison Award is presented to Hervé Descottes, Jeff Taylor and Jessica Tchah of L’Observatoire International for lighting Vintry Fine Wines in New York City. A personalized Steuben crystal award for the winner of this 30th annual lighting design competition was presented by GE Lighting on April 22, 2013, in Philadelphia.

The Vintry Fine Wines store, located in the Battery Park neighborhood of New York City, uses a unique combination of light and architecture to set itself apart from the surrounding cityscape. Starting with its strikingly non-externally illuminated storefront, the lighting concept draws visitors into the store’s warm interior. GE Tetra® Contour LED systems line the shelves and ceiling, effortlessly merging with the graceful curves and rows of the store that evoke the geography of a vineyard.

The warm 2700K color of the LEDs brings warmth to the space while highlighting the leather surfaces. The curvilinear forms expand the perceived space, and actual linear footage, of the store. The bright, clean lines of light allow the space to have a great deal of merchandise without appearing cluttered. The Tetra® Contour systems are specifically molded to each shelf and stack to accentuate the architectural curve of the store, as well as to emphasize the bottles. The placement of the fixtures was extensively studied in a mock-up to ensure maximum lighting with a minimum of reflection from the LED mounting. Each fixture, whether it is located in the shelves or the ceiling, is carefully detailed to prevent visibility from any angle. All fixtures are dimmable and maintained by a state-of-the-art computerized control system that follows the astronomical clock. The lights are brighter during the day and dimmer during evening hours.

The GE Tetra® Contour systems not only provide sufficient lumen output for the space, but are also energy-efficient, cost-effective and easy to maintain. Their long lifetime, coupled with the space's centralized lighting control system, ensures that the Vintry Fine Wines store will be able to get the maximum amount of usage from these fixtures with the minimum amount of upkeep. The fixtures will keep the store looking warm and bright for many years to come.

A prestigious panel of five judges selected this year’s winning entry for its superiority in the following categories: functional excellence; architectural compatibility; effective use of state-of-the-art lighting products and techniques; appropriate color, form and texture revelation; energy effectiveness; and cost effectiveness.

Judges for this 30th annual competition were:

    Ellen Godson LC, MIES, Angus Lighting/H.H. Angus & Associates Ltd., Toronto, Ontario

    Tim O’Keefe, LC, GE Lighting, San Francisco, CA

    Claudio Ramos, IALD, BANKS|RAMOS Architectural Lighting Design, San Francisco, CA

    Jered E. Widmer, The Lighting Practice, Philadelphia, PA

    John C. Workley, AIA, NCARB, RA, Vocon Partners, LLC, Cleveland, OH

The winning project was one of four Awards of Excellence finalists. The other Awards of Excellence winners were:

Harry Winston Shanghai Pavilion (Shanghai, The People's Republic of China) designed by Francesca Bettridge, FIES, IALD, LC of Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design (New York City).

Space Shuttle Pavilion at the Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum (New York City) designed by Brett Andersen, Stephanie Daigle, Samuel Kitchel and Kenneth Schutz  of Focus Lighting Inc. (New York City).

Velti Headquarters (San Francisco, CA) designed by Jody Pritchard, IALD, LEED AP ID+C and Kristin Peck, Associate IALD, LC, LEED AP of PritchardPeck Lighting (San Francisco, CA). (Architects:  Michelle Ives-Ratkovich and Allard Kuijken, AECOM, Los Angeles)

Also presented at the GE Edison Awards ceremony were five Awards of Merit, three Awards for Environmental Design, and one Award for Residential Design.

2012 GE Edison Awards of Merit

The Burlington Performing Arts Centre (Burlington, Ontario, Canada);

Ion Luh and Ryan Fook-Sheung Consullux Lighting Consultants / CEL (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) Jon Soules

Diamond Schmitt Architects (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)

Contributing Architects: Michael Treacy and Eric Lucassen, Diamond Schmitt Architects, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Contributing Designers: David Young and Fazlur Kazi, Consullux Lighting Consultants / CEL, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Concert and Congress Centre — Augsburg, Germany (Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany)

Erwin Döring d-lightvision (Munich, Bavaria, German)

The Smith Center for the Performing Arts (Las Vegas, Nevada, USA)

Susan Brady, Attila Uysal, Donna Sumner, Wen Yuan Lin and Bruce Taylor, SBLD Studio (New York, New York, USA)

Architects: David M. Schwarz Architectural Services and HKS Architects, Inc., Washington, D.C., USA

Sutphin Boulevard Overpass (Jamaica, New York, USA)

Domingo Gonzalez, LC, MIES, CIALD, DLF, AIA, Chae O'Keefe, LC, LEED AP ID+C, IES and Ilva Dodaj, IES, AIA Assoc.

Domingo Gonzalez Associates (New York City)

Arquitipo UNARTE (Puebla, Puebla, México)

Gustavo Avilés and José Ramón Tagle

Lighteam Gustavo Avilés S.C. (México City, México)


2012 GE Edison Award for Environmental Design

Arquitipo UNARTE (Puebla, Puebla, México)

Gustavo Avilés and José Ramón Tagle

Lighteam Gustavo Avilés S.C. (México City, México)

Hilton Columbus Downtown (Columbus, Ohio, USA)

Ardra Paige Zinkon, IALD, MIES

Tec Studio (Columbus, Ohio, USA)

Scarlett Residence (Canada)

 Galina Zbrizher, IALD, IESNA, LC

Total Lighting Solutions (Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada)

Vance Harris, Architect, AIBC AAA MRAIC LEED AP

DIALOG (Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada)


2012 GE Edison Award for Residential Design

Scarlett Residence (Canada)

Galina Zbrizher, IALD, IESNA, LC

Total Lighting Solutions (Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada)

Vance Harris, Architect, AIBC AAA MRAIC LEED AP

DIALOG (Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada)


Visit to view all the award winners of the 2012 GE Edison Awards in more detail and to find information related to the 2013 GE Edison Award call for entries.

Leave A Comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Plugged In

RL Tweets!

Dead Site