ALA to Induct Harry Kallick into Lighting Hall of Fame
May 1, 2012 - 8:32am
The Kalco Lighting founder and Varaluz chairman will be inducted at the American Lighting Assn. Annual Conference in Scottsdale, AZ, in September.
Harry Kallick, founder of Kalco Lighting Inc.
Harry Kallick, founder of Kalco Lighting Inc., has been an active member of the American Lighting Assn. for nearly three decades.

Industry veteran Harry Kallick will be inducted into the American Lighting Assn.'s (ALA) Lighting Hall of Fame, the organization announced recently. The induction ceremony will take place at ALA’s Annual Conference this September in Scottsdale, AZ.

Kallick is known for founding Kalco Lighting Inc., which he built over nearly two decades before selling it in 2000. Currently, he serves as Chairman of Varaluz and Managing Partner of Solar Sign Light LLC.

Kallick says he is honored to have been chosen as this year’s inductee.

“I was very surprised and I am very honored,” he says.

Kallick has also been a strong supporter of ALA over the last 30 years, serving as chair of the 2001 Annual Conference Committee. He has also been a major supporter of the Membership Campaign Committee and the Bi-National Advertising and PR program.

Chairman of the Award Committee Stan Johnston says this service is a big reason why the committee chose Kallick.

“Harry was the very first to recognize the importance of belonging to the organization and helping to promote the ideas of ALA,” Johnston says. “His knowledge of the industry and use of this knowledge to encourage others to help grow the industry make him perfect for the honor of being inducted into the ALA Lighting Hall of Fame.”

Kallick will be inducted into the Lighting Hall of Fame during the ALA Conference’s Annual Banquet on Sept. 11. The conference runs Sept. 9-11 at the Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch in Scottsdale, AZ. More information on Kallick and the conference can be found in the May/June edition of ALA’s Lightrays newsletter.

Lighting Hall of Fame Members

• Judy Anderson, Illumination Systems Inc.

• Susan Solomon Auerbach, Generation Brands

• Michael H. Ber, CLC, Lighting Inc.

• Nelson J. Bleisch, Thomas Lighting

• William F. Blitzer, Lightolier

• William K. Branham, Sr., The Brecher Company

• Burton A. Burton, Casablanca Fan Co.

• Arthur Director, CLC, Connecticut Lighting

• Zia Eftekhar, Philips Professional Luminaires North America

• Murray Feiss, Murray Feiss Lighting

• Gerald Fleischer, Hermitage Lighting Gallery

• Harry L. Gilham, Jr., Georgia Lighting

• Philip S. Hoefer, Hoefer/Funsinn Lighting Agency

• Ray Huizinga, Huizinga Sales Co.

• Stanley D. Johnston, CLC, Johnston Lighting Associates

• Sam Minoff, Kichler

• Ira H. Phillips, Quoizel Inc.

• Larry K. Powers, Philips Business Unit, Professional Luminaires North America (formerly The Genlyte Group)

• Bruce A. Robinson, Robinson Lighting

• Andrew Schonbek, Schonbek Worldwide Lighting Inc.

• Edwin N. Solomon, Sea Gull Lighting Products Inc.

• Dennis Swanson, Lamps Plus

• Bill Teiber, Bill Teiber Co.

• David Weisberg, Affiliated Distributors


Leave A Comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Plugged In

RL Tweets!

Dead Site