ALA Expands Lighting Certification Options
March 12, 2012 - 9:16am

The American Lighting Association has debuted its Certificate Specialist program, a mid-level designation for those American Lighting Association members who want to become more specialized in a specific area of lighting.

Accreditation through American Lighting Association allows lighting professionals to expand their knowledge of products, technology and industry trends, and gain recognition for their efforts. There are several levels of certification from which to choose. Here’s a rundown of each program and its requirements, beginning with the most basic:

Lighting Associate

  • Candidates must successfully complete 12 hours worth of online training courses through the American Lighting Association. Topics include an overview of light sources, control systems and low voltage lighting.

Lighting Specialist

  • Review the 460-page Residential Lighting Training Manual, available for purchase from the American Lighting Association.
  • Pass an American Lighting Association-administered final exam with a score of at least 80 percent.

Certificate Specialist

  • Become a Lighting Specialist.
  • Pass one of the two currently available online courses, offered as a self-study monograph or as part of a regional seminar. This leads to certified “Specialist” status in either Kitchen and Bath Lighting or Decorative Lighting. More specialist discipline courses are planned for the future.

Certified Lighting Manufacturers’ Representative

  • Earn a minimum of eight credits through educational seminars at the American Lighting Association Annual Conference or through similar American Lighting Association-approved programming.
  • Pass six of the 17 online courses offered by the American Lighting Association.
  • Attend three American Lighting Association seminars at the Dallas Market, pass eight additional American Lighting Association online courses or become a Lighting Specialist following the requirements detailed above.

Certified Lighting Consultant

  • Become a Lighting Specialist.
  • Log at least five years of experience in the lighting industry, or complete 40 hours of approved courses. The eligibility of candidates with more than five years of experience will be determined according to a sliding scale.

Leave A Comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Plugged In

RL Tweets!

Dead Site