30th Annual IALD International Lighting Design Awards Recipients Announced
April 29, 2013 - 11:16am
Past award winner Pfarré Lighting Design receives its first Radiance Award.

Ten award winners representing architectural lighting design projects from nine countries — the most diverse group of projects in recent memory — comprise the winners of the 30th Annual International Association of Lighting Designers (IALD) International Lighting Design Awards, recognized at a presentation held April 24 at the Crystal Tea Room in Philadelphia. Of the 10 projects recognized, one entry earned a Special Citation, six earned Awards of Merit and three earned Awards of Excellence.

Rosemarie Allaire, IALD, IALD International Lighting Design Awards Chair, shared her excitement about this year’s award-winning projects: “The IALD received more than 220 submissions, drawn from all over the world, for this landmark year in the IALD Awards program. These projects were intriguing and inspiring; it was an honor to witness so many creative and innovative lighting projects from our talented industry. Each of these projects demonstrates unique and distinctive design solutions to enhance the architectural experience.”

The highest point score winner across all categories, in addition to receiving an Award of Excellence for their project, receives the IALD Radiance Award for Excellence in Lighting Design. Winners of the Radiance Award do not know in advance of their Radiance Award-winning status — only that they should be present at the evening’s award ceremony. The excitement is quite palpable at the event, which also serves as a fundraising dinner for the IALD Education Trust.

Accepting the Radiance Award for Excellence in Lighting Design was Gerd Pfarré of Pfarré Lighting Design for the Hafencity-University Subway Station in Hamburg, Germany.

The IALD International Lighting Design Awards: A Tradition of Excellence

As the longest-running award program recognizing architectural lighting design excellence, receiving an IALD award nod is universally heralded as the top honor in the lighting design industry.

The results of the 30th Annual Lighting Design Awards underscore the IALD’s commitment to recognizing quality lighting as defined by both aesthetic and technical expertise. As project focus and lighting codes mandate a shift in paradigm to lighting that is sustainable and maintainable, rigorous judging criteria ensures the IALD International Lighting Design Awards remain relevant, mirroring the global design environment. Over the years this program has become an industry benchmark, setting the bar in a position that requires adherence to the highest quality lighting design parameters.

The IALD is always thrilled and honored to receive a large number of entries, and is especially appreciative of its esteemed panel of seven judges who spend three full days reviewing entries. The judges include five IALD members at various experience levels, including a sustainability expert. An interior designer and architect join these five IALD members to complete the panel.

2013 IALD International Lighting Design Award Judges

The judging process is an integral part of the awards program, and the IALD is delighted to have secured a fantastic panel of judges this year, including:

David Bird, FIALD, 2B Designed Pty Ltd., Melbourne, Australia

Morgan Gabler, IALD, Gabler-Youngston, Atlanta

Elizabeth Gillmor, Associate IALD, Group14 Engineering Inc., Denver

David Harlan, AIA, Architects LLC, New Haven, CT

Kenta Bacas Hosaka, AIA, XSXL Open Studio Inc., Chicago

Mitchell Kohn, FIALD, Mitchell B. Kohn Lighting Design, Highland Park, IL

Gregg Mackell, IALD, 186 Lighting Design Group Inc., Denver

2013 IALD International Lighting Design Awards Chair: Rosemarie Allaire, IALD, Rosemarie Allaire Lighting Design, Dana Point, CA

Judging took place at the IALD Headquarters office in Chicago in December 2012.

The Process: Judging Criteria

The IALD International Lighting Design Awards program honors lighting design that reaches new heights, moves beyond the ordinary and represents excellence in aesthetic and technical design achievement.

Only those projects demonstrating consistent design quality and technical expertise receive award recognition after three straight days of judging.

The judging for the IALD International Lighting Design Awards is rigorous and blind to uphold the integrity of the process. Scoring is quantitative, with each judge confidentially assigning a numeric value to each criterion after a period of discussion. Ballots are tallied and results kept confidential until judging concludes. There is no point during the process in which judges are made aware of where a specific project stands in terms of receiving an award.

30th Annual International Lighting Design Awards at a Glance


Haffencity-University Subway Station; Gerd Pfarré, FIALD; Pfarré Lighting Design; Hamburg, Germany


Silo 468; Tapio Rosenius, IALD; Lighting Design Collective; Helsinki


Crown Towers Eastern Entry; Paul Beale, IALD; Electrolight; Melbourne, Australia


Burlington Arcade; Andrew Howis; Speirs + Major; London


Cite du Surf et de l'ocean; Hervé Descottes; L’Observatoire International; Biarritz, France


Lakewood Cemetary Garden Mausoleum; Tao Ham, IALD; HGA Architects + Engineers; Minneapolis


Tokyo Skytree; Hirohito Totsune, Associate IALD; Sirius Lighting Office Inc.; Tokyo


Sneakerology; Paul Beale, IALD; Electrolight; Sydney


Kunming Changshui International Airport; Dr. Xin Yingjie; Shanghai Grandar Light Art + Technology; Kunming City, China


Qatar National Convention Centre Banqueting Suite; Lee Prince, IALD; Light and Design Associates; Doha, Qatar


Leave A Comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Plugged In

RL Tweets!

Dead Site