2014 Lighting for Tomorrow Competition Open
January 23, 2014 - 12:52pm
The first deadline for intent to submit is April 18, 2014.

Lighting for Tomorrow (LFT) launched its twelfth consecutive annual competition at the Dallas Intl. Lighting Market, Jan. 15-19, 2014. This year, LFT is looking for products that meet market price points as part of the solid-state lighting (SSL) competition such as LED A-lamps under $10 and fixtures under $50, as well as high-lumen A-lamps. Similar to last year, LFT awards bonus points for lighting designed to meet the needs of the growing senior population and invites submissions of organic LED (OLED) luminiaires as part of the SSL competition. Lighting for Tomorrow continues to build on the momentum from previous competitions for lighting control products, including stand alone, system, and whole house devices, as well as LED luminaires for specific applications, retrofit kits, and replacement lamps.

Continuing in 2014, LFT will require lighting control devices to be compatible with fluorescent or LED technology. The judging panel will be evaluating products based on functionality, ease of installation and use, innovation, and ability to work with other systems and existing luminaires. Past winners include Legrand®, Leviton, and Lutron®.

For the last eight years, the LFT competition has stimulated development in SSL products for the home. Since its launch in 2006, the competition has seen a tremendous increase in the quantity and quality of LED products, and aims to continue moving this market by awarding the top performing products every year. Entries in this competition will be judged on the basis of lighting performance, marketability and energy efficiency. In 2013, 10 winners, five honorable mentions, and two noteworthy products were selected including manufacturers Acuity Brands, Edge Lighting, Evolution Lighting, Juno Lighting, LEDnovation, Legrand, LITON lighting, Nesora Lighting, Philips Lighting, Prism Co. Ltd, Samjin Lnd Co. Ltd, SWITCH Lighting and WAC Lighting.

The first deadline for intent to submit for this year's competition is April 18, 2014. Winners will be announced during an award ceremony at the ALA Conference, September 16, 2014, in Nashville and will be eligible to be promoted by energy-efficiency programs across the U.S. and Canada during the following year. For complete guidelines and rules for the 2014 competition, see www.lightingfortomorrow.com.

Leave A Comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Plugged In

RL Tweets!

Dead Site